10 Reasons Why You Should Be Drinking Lemon Water

I have recently started to drink more water daily using my 24 oz. bottle.  I take it with me everywhere, now.  Finding one that was easy to  carry and was in a fun bright colour also helped in forcing myself to bring it with me everywhere; grocery shopping, meeting up with a friend to the dog park and walks after work.

Lemon-Water-Joyous Health

image courtesy of joyoushealth.com 

I’ve never had the habit of drinking a lot of water on a daily basis, coffee was my go-to, so it was hard in the beginning to keep remembering to bring my water bottle with me, to break the habit.

I tried it slowly at first, one glass followed by my large cup of delicious coffee.  Then when I stopped, I started to miss it, miss the taste.

An email from the Huffington Post recently had an article about the 10 benefits of drinking lemon water.  This seemed too coincidental that I had recently just started to adopt this habit.  I had to read it.  Here is the article here.

What I found interesting in the article is how much water is recommended to drink daily.  My water bottle is 24 ounces and according to this article, I need to drink 4 full bottles.  sounds easy, and it’s getting easier as I add the lemons, it bumps the flavour and I actually find myself drinking 5 full bottles a day without a second thought.

While getting enough water is critical to health, many of us fail to drink enough and as a result we can become chronically dehydrated. Thirst is one obvious sign of dehydration, but if you’re also experiencing headaches, chapped lips and dry skin, or if your urine appears very concentrated, it might be time to start filling your glass.

Getting 6-8 glasses (2-2.5 liters) of water a day is the foundation to your health, and while coffee, tea, flavored water, and foods still count towards your hydration, clean and pure water will always dominate.

What did you think of the article?  Do you drink lemon water everyday?  Do you struggle like I do with breaking the coffee habit?

J.

 

 

Leave a Reply

